• Science in RCS is taught in grades K-12. The goal of science education is to create scientifically literate students who are interested and curious about the world around them. Please use the resources below to assist your child in learning science. 


    Three Dimensional Science

    The Georgia Standards of Excellence in Science use a phenomena-based, three-dimensional approach to teaching science. The standards are based on the Framework for K-12 Science Education, a project that involved hundreds of science educators from K-graduate level who used thousands of research-based articles to develop a "best-practices" approach to science education. This meets the needs of 21st century learners and moves the focus of science education from a memorization-based approach, to a practices-based approach to science. 


    A phenomena is any natural event that begs explanation. In three-dimensional science, we use phenomena to guide learning. An example of this would be the recent solar eclipse. This natural event allowed students to explore the position of the sun, earth, and moon and ask questions about this phenomena to guide learning. 

    Dimension 1- Science and Engineering Practices

    The science and engineering practices are a set of eight practices that consist of what we want students to do as they learn science. These practices mimic what scientists do on a daily basis to explore the world. As with the content students are learning, the science and engineering practices become more in-depth as students move through the years. 

    Asking questions and defining problems, Developing and using models, Planning and carrying out investigations, Analyzing and interperting data, Using mathematics and computational thinking, Constructing explanations and designing solutions, Engaging in argument from evidence, Obtaining, evaluating and communicating information. 

    Dimension 2- Disciplinary Core Ideas

    The disciplinary core ideas represent the content that students learn. Students explore ideas several times from grades K-12 in order to add depth as they grow and mature. 

    In Georgia, students in grades K-5 have earth, physical, and life science standards that grow in complexity as students grow.

    In middle school, 6th grade students explore earth science concepts, 7th grade students explore life science concepts, and 8th grade students explore physical science concepts.

    At the high school level, all students study biology in 9th or 10th grade, chemistry or environmental science in 9th or 10th grade, physics in 11th grade, and a variety of other science options. 

    Dimesnion 3- Crosscutting Concepts

    The crosscutting concepts are seven ideas that stretch across all science disciplines as well as across all curriculum. These concepts help students to think through the curriculum and across content.

    Patterns, Cause and effect, Systems and systems models, Scale, proportion and quantity, Energy and matter, Structure and function, Stability and change







Three Dimensional Science