About Us

Rome City Schools Central Office

The building that now houses the Rome Board of Education Administrative Offices was originally opened in 1921.  During this time it was known as Central Primary School and became home to children in first through fourth grades.  A lunchroom was added to the building in the 1950s, and the school was used until 1973.  During the years of 1974 to 1976 the building was abandoned. It was at this time remodeling began so the building could house the administrative offices for Rome City Schools. Today the building houses the offices of Superintendent, Human Resources, Finance, Title I, School Nutrition, Curriculum, Business, and Special Education. 

Central Office:

Phone: 706-236-5050

Fax: 706-802-4311

Mailing Address:

Rome City Schools

508 East Second Street

Rome, Georgia 30161

District Administration

Superintendent of Schools: Mr. Louis C. Byars

Associate Superintendent of Schools: Dr. Dawn Williams

Director of Assessment and Accountability: Mrs. Kristin Teems

Director of Communications: Mrs. Courtney Crumley

Director of Curriculum (Elementary) and Pre-K: Mr. Scott Crabbe

Director of Curriculum (Secondary) and Professional Learning: Mrs. Jennifer Perkins

Director of Federal Programs: Dr. Leslie Dixon

Director of Finance: Mrs. Star Smith

Director of Human Resources: Mrs. Angela Newby

Director of Maintenance and Facilities: Mr. Tim Williams

Director of Safety and Security: Mr. Jason Self

Director of School Nutrition: Mrs. Brandy Money

Director of Special Education: Mrs. Kriszti Kilpatrick

Director of Student Services: Dr. Dale Willerson

Director of Technology Services: Mr. Matt Stover

Director of Transportation: Mr. Elander Graham

Gifted/STEM Specialist: Mrs. Sabrina Teems

System Social Worker/Homeless Liaison: Mrs. Kirsten Thornante

Open for Opportunity